The hunter valley

 

Image

You are not dreaming I am not in the movie dallas but in the hunter valley ! I went there last saturday to visit and try some Australian’s wine. The scenery were amazing but I had forgotten my memory card. So I had a camera but no memory. I manage to persuade my friend who was tired to lend me her memory card and took some picture with my own camera to share my experience with you! Unfortunately I do not have any picture of the vinery we visited as at this time I hadn’t realise my mistake yet !

Our first stop was at Catherine vale and we were very lucky to found it. On the way we passed so many other establishment but we read on a guide that this place was different and it was. The owner catherine greeted us warmly. We tried some of her wines and she even help us with the rest of our itinerary. Great start of a day and warm welcome from the American owner now living in Australia for more than 45 years ! 

We had lunch in Broke a tiny village with some ‘cowboyish’ character and lot of motorcycles. We even met an Australian’s woman who had just came back from France and welcomed us in Australia in a very polite French. We enjoyed olive oil, lemon butter (I loved it) and finally decided to head towards Wollombi. 

ImageImage

 

 

Wollombi is a very tiny place with a huge amount of character and secrets…I loved it and I wish we could have stay a little bit longer there. I could imagine myself riding my horse coming to the village shop to buy some groceries and then heading towards the pub for a chill beer. Before going to the old village dance hall! It was like traveling back in time. We witnessed a wedding and even them had this old school style cars and it was amazing.

ImageImage

We had not time and couldn’t visit the museum but I am sure if one day I come back to Australia I will make sure I go and visit Willombi’s museum. The Prison, the prison prisoners’ exercise yard and all the little quirky things made this place very special !

ImageImageImage

They had for Halloween a competition of scarecrows and you can see some of them on this page !ImageImageImage

While heading back toward the car, I saw this tiny post advertising a plant nursery and gift shop, the problem when you travel with me is that you may end up walking and waiting a lot as I love to discover everything. I follow the sign (after shouting to my friend to wait for me) and I discover this lovely place own by a lovely lady. She was very friendly we talked and talked but I had to leave at some point but I wish her all the best as a traveler like myself she is full of history and complexity. 

https://www.facebook.com/littleredridinghoodwollombi 

ImageImage

On the way back to Sydney through the scenery road I thought that we were in the south of France. The scenery are very similar and the cows have the same colours !

Image

Thanks for reading my post and following me. Feel free to comment.

Cheers.

One thought on “The hunter valley

  1. Pingback: The hunter valley | danette's travels

Leave a comment